Date: 2nd July 2018 at 10:00am
Written by:

It was a busy weekend for Sheffield Wednesday’s fixture list.

Saturday saw two games moved and put back 24 hours and they concerned matches against Brentford and Millwall in the opening month of the 2-18/19 Championship campaign.

We were due to make the trip to Griffin Park to face Brentford on Saturday, August 18 for a 3pm kick-off, but with an EFL Cup clash against Sunderland in midweek (live on Sky Sports on Thursday, August 16 @ 7.45pm), Brentford moves back to the Sunday.

Brentford, therefore, takes place on Sunday, August 19 and will now kick-off at 3pm.

As a consequence of this, the next midweek clash against Millwall at Hillsborough moves from the Tuesday to Wednesday, August 22 with a 7.45pm kick-off slot.

Sunday saw another two games moved.

Out trip to Ashton Gate to face Bristol City was originally scheduled for Saturday, October 6 but now goes back to Sunday, October 7 and will kick-off at the earlier time of 1.30pm.

Finally, the Yorkshire derby against Leeds United sees a change but it continues to take place on Saturday, September 29, however, kick-off at Hillsborough now moves to 12.15pm from 3pm.

Brentford v SWFC | Sunday 19 August | 3.00pm
SWFC v Millwall | Wednesday 22 August | 7.45pm
SWFC v Leeds | Saturday 29 September | 12.15pm
Bristol City v SWFC | Sunday 7 October | 1.30pm

Reactions to this news was mixed, it was an inconvenience for some, others couldn’t understand the changes full stop but there were a few who saw it as a great excuse to enjoy the hoys of the public house.

 

Your Comment